Biography

Biography as PDF-Download

The mezzo soprano Lioba Braun began her artistic path as local cantor at the Kathedral in Würzburg – the city in which she grew up and where she completed her studies as church musician. Her international career took quite a spectacular turn in 1994, when she jumped in at short notice to sing Brangäne in Tristan und Isolde at the Bayreuth Festival with Daniel Barenboim conducting. Subsequently she was invited to sing this and other Wagner roles (Kundry/Parsifal, Ortrud/Lohengrin, Fricka and Götterdämmerung-Waltraute/Ring, Venus/Tannhäuser, recently also Isolde/Tristan, i.a. with Andris Nelsons in Birmingham and Paris) by both the Bayreuth Festival and Europe’s main opera companies, such as the Scala in Milan, Teatro Real in Madrid, Liceu in Barcelona and the state operas of Berlin, Dresden, Leipzig, Munich, Stuttgart, Zurich, Rome, Los Angeles, Vienna and many other internationally renowned houses.

She has performed opera roles, which comprise next to Wagner and Verdi (Eboli, Azucena) i. a. Bartok (Judith/Blaubart), Strauss (Komponist/Ariadne auf Naxos, Amme/Frau ohne Schatten, Marschallin ) and Mozart (Donna Elvira/Don Giovanni) as well as the great solo parts of Mahler’s symphonies and works of Berg, Brahms and Beethoven (i.a. at Wiener Musikvereinssaal, Festpielhaus Baden-Baden, Salzburger Festspiele, Dresdner Musikfestspiele, at the Pope in Rome, Berlin Philharmonie) under the baton of such famous conductors as Christian Thielemann, Mariss Jansons, Andris Nelsons, Zubin Metha, Daniel Barenboim, Riccardo Chailly, Claudio Abbado, Christoph Eschenbach, Lorin Maazel, Myung-Whun Chung, Kent Nagano, Jesús López Cobos, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Sir Simon Rattle and Riccardo Muti, to name but a few.

Her cooperation with highly considerable orchestras includes i.a. Berliner Philharmonic, Concertgebouw Orchester Amsterdam, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, the West-Eastern-Diwan-Orchester, the Boston Symphony Orchestra Staatskapelle Dresden, and the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks.

Next to her ongoing creative career Lioba Braun has also been appointed Professor for singing at Hochschule fuer Musik und Tanz in Cologne in 2010.

Lioba Braun made several CD recordings, among those “Lioba Braun singt Wagner (Sony 2005) conducted by Peter Schneider, Mozart’s Requiem conducted by Christian Thielemann (Deutsche Grammophon 2006), Mahler’s 2nd and 8th Symphony conducted by Jonathan Nott (Tudor 2009/2011); as well as the Altrhapsodie by Brahms with Helmuth Rilling (Hännsler 2006). Her newest project is the recording of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys „Elias“ - Oratorium op. 70 under Hans-Christoph Rademann, with Lioba Braun, Marlis Petersen, Maximilian Schmitt, Thomas Oliemans, the RIAS Kammerchor and the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin, soon to be released.

Biographie

Biographie als PDF-Download

Die Mezzosopranistin Lioba Braun begann ihren künstlerischen Weg zunächst als Regionalkantorin am Dom zu Würzburg - die Stadt, in der sie aufwuchs und ihre Ausbildung zur A-Kirchenmusikerin erhielt. Die internationale Karriere als Sängerin begann 1994, als sie bei den Bayreuther Festspielen in der Rolle der Brangäne kurzfristig einsprang. Neben mehreren Auftritten bei den Bayreuther Festspielen in den darauffolgenden Jahren, sang Lioba Braun seitdem diese und andere Wagner-Partien (Kundry/Parsifal, Ortrud/Lohengrin, Fricka und Götterdämmerungs-Waltraute/Ring, Venus/Tannhäuser, neuerdings auch Isolde/Tristan, u.a. unter Andris Nelsons in Birmingham und Paris), u.a. an der Mailänder Scala, dem Teatro Real in Madrid und am Liceu in Barcelona ebenso wie in Berlin, Dresden, Leipzig, München, Stuttgart, Zürich, Rom, Los Angeles, und an der Wiener Staatsoper.

Ihre Opernrollen, neben Wagner und Verdi (Eboli, Azucena) u.a. auch von Bartok (Judith/Blaubart), Strauss (Komponist/Ariadne auf Naxos, Amme/Frau ohne Schatten, Marschallin/Rosenkavalier) und Mozart (Donna Elvira/Don Giovanni) wie auch die großen Solopartien in den Symphonien Gustav Mahlers und in Werken u.a.von Berg, Brahms und Beethoven (u.a. im Wiener Musikvereinssaal, im Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, bei den Salzburger Festspielen und den Dresdner Musikfestspielen, beim Papst in Rom und in der Berliner Philharmonie), sang und singt sie unter so namhaften Dirigenten wie Christian Thielemann, Mariss Jansons, Andris Nelsons, Zubin Mehta, Daniel Barenboim, Riccardo Chailly, Claudio Abbado, Christoph Eschenbach, Lorin Maazel, Myung-Whun Chung, Kent Nagano, Jesús López Cobos , Giuseppe Sinopoli, Sir Simon Rattle und Riccardo Muti, um nur einige zu nennen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit namhaften Orchestern umfasst unter anderem die Berliner Philharmoniker, das Concertgebouw Orkest Amsterdam, das Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, das West-Eastern-Diwan-Orchester, das Boston Symphony Orchestra, die Staatskapelle Dresden und das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks.

Seit Oktober 2010 ist Lioba Braun neben ihrer sängerischen Tätigkeit Professorin für Gesang an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln.

Lioba Braun hat verschiedene CD-Aufnahmen gemacht, darunter "Lioba Braun singt Wagner" (SONY 2005) unter der Leitung von Peter Schneider, Mozarts Requiem unter Christian Thielemann (Deutsche Grammophon 2006), Mahlers 2.und 8. Symphonie unter Jonathan Nott (Tudor 2009/2011), sowie die Altrhapsodie von Brahms mit Helmuth Rilling (Hänssler 2006), Suor Angelica (Zia Principessa) unter Andris Nelsons und Mahlers 7. Symphonie (DVD) unter Riccardo Chailly. In Kürze erscheint auch die Aufnahme von Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdys „Elias“ - Oratorium op. 70 unter Hans-Christoph Rademann, mit Lioba Braun, Marlis Petersen, Maximilian Schmitt, Thomas Oliemans, dem RIAS Kammerchor und der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin.